Tuesday, January 15th., 2013

Foreigners, Especially South Americans, Are Treated Differently By The Local Press
Fox Sports en Español performed an interview with Luis Suarez. Here he talks about the recent handball vs. Mansfield, the diving allegations and the racial storm involving Patrice Evra.

Argentinian Interviewer: 

Do you think that, because you are in Liverpool and because you’re a foreigner, that they made things difficult for you. Or, do you think you’ve found yourself in a situation that you didn’t expect to be in?

Luis Suarez:

The truth is that it is complicated. Much like Carlitos (Tevez) and ‘El Kun’ (Aguero) have said: foreigners, especially South Americans, are treated differently by the local press. But, they’re cultural difference. It’s their way of life. It seems that at one point they began to feel that way. But, what we (South American players) need to do is just play football. To do what we know how to do, what we always wanted to do, and what we suffered in order to be here. Not listen to some of the silly things that some have said.

Argentinian Interviewer: 

It’s true that South American football has certain habits that their players carry. Do you think that has affected you? The fact that some people say: “Suarez dives”.

Luis Suarez:

Yeah, well. These are things that one has to live through and feel. I feel that at times, you realize that, on the pitch, you can have types of reactions that later you ask yourself: “What the hell did I just do?” I was criticized vs. Stoke for diving. I’ll be sincere with you. I dived at that moment because I was feeling the anxiety of drawing against Stoke at home. But for the managers of Stoke and Everton to come out and say what they did? Today, I realize that “Suarez sells”.

The other day, with no intention of mine, the ball hit my hand. I didn’t even feel like scoring the goal and just kicked the ball in the net out of habit. Just because I kissed my wrist, they again began to criticize. You’ll see, since “Suarez sells”, they’ll invent a rumour that I (pauses) spoke to Coates and Gerrard in a dressing room in secret or something.  I don’t know. They’ll invent anything. But no, it’s over. Just dedicate yourself to your own things: To talk about football, which is what they’re supposed to do, and not on the attitude of every player.

Argentinian Interviewer: 

We all know that Uruguay is a country where many types of people get along very well.  Historically, there aren’t really any situations of “racism”. Uruguay is a nation filled with people of different colours. Everyone here (in South America) figured that they were judging you because of your ignorance of not knowing, possibly, how susceptible they were in England. You were brand new to the country.
 
Luis Suarez:

Yeah, but besides all that. We’re talking about a discussion that I had on a football pitch with someone who perhaps thought they could speak Spanish but, really, they didn’t know how to speak it. When coming to me and then saying something nasty about being “South American”, you can’t really start to cry about it because it’s just something that happens inside a football pitch. Everyone has their way of dealing with other people on the pitch and my conscious is more than clean on everything that was said.  Like I said before, Manchester United has power over the press here, they a have a lot of influence and they’ll always be helped.

I’m a type of person who has realized that if I were to listen to what everyone has to say, I would not be here right now nor be able to play football. If I were to listen to what everyone says, things would become very difficult.
I can’t forget that I have a family. When I would come home (from the court sessions, etc), my baby daughter was the one thing that could make it all go away and bring me tremendous joy. After going through this ordeal, I realized that there are people in my life who love and appreciate you for what you are and not for any form of personal interest. My wife was the one who was closest to me during this entire issue.  Also Sebastian Coates and his girlfriend, who would stay to keep my wife company every day while I travelled to the court from 7 am and came home at 10 pm. Also, the people of this club who gave me amazing support.

Argentinian Interviewer: 

What is coming in the future?

Luis Suarez:

I know that today I can help the team with what I can. I believe that if the team is united, and we’re all pushing in the same directions, we can become successful. I’m a person who feels that all of this does not depend on 1 player, but the entire team. I feel that with young players you can win games, and with experienced players you can win championships.

 

  • My thanks to Alvaro-Nicolas for this transcript
